My Evolving Framework for 2024

My Evolving Framework for 2024

Hello, I hope you had a fantastic start to the New Year! At the beginning of each year, I usually write an article reflecting on the past year and sharing my goals for the upcoming. 2023 proved to be a challenging year for me and I didn't write one, but now I'm back!

I used to consider New Year as a matter of fact that the Earth just completed a revolution around the sun. Factually I have to admit that it is quite accurate, and many people still go through New Year's passively. There is enough cynicism around the internet and I don't want to contribute to that anymore. I Don't want to be that guy. Let people have their fun. Partly my perspectives and cynical points of view were shaped by things I read on the internet. After all, we are what we consume. But now with a bit more self-awareness and reflection, I think I have trained myself to be more optimistic over the last two years.

The beginning of the New Year is a good time to pause, reflect, and recharge. This might mean different things to different people. People tend to place a lot of weight on the importance of events that happen at the start of the year. If everything goes according to plan, it's wonderful, but if something negative happens, people might lose motivation completely. This is not the mindset you want to have. There is plenty of time to make changes. You should always be willing to adapt to the circumstances. Whether you are faced with a positive or a negative situation or outcome, try to stay even keel and avoid getting too excited or depressed.

Despite having opportunities to write about numerous interesting topics, I've intentionally refrained from writing or sharing those on Social Media for that matter. You can say, I am lazy. That might be partly true but you cannot verify it can you? So take my word for it. The primary reason is not the lack of thoughts or interesting encounters but rather my realization that I haven't conducted in-depth research on the topics I want to write about or have something unique to offer. I want to strive for the quality of the articles I appreciate myself. But also perfectionism is not what I want. So I have to start somewhere!

Growing up on the internet exposed me to an overwhelming number of articles, often filled with recycled content lacking substantial value. There is so much noise and I think it might be wise to not keep amplifying it. I want to work on meaningful pieces and do the work myself to the maximum extent possible, then what I write will have much more depth and quality to it than a regurgitation of 100 different blog posts.

For me, true learning stems from experiential understanding and investing considerable time in an activity. That's why I'm going into 2024 with this broad framework

  • Dedicate more time to learning new skills.

  • Get bored more often.

  • Do things that are uncomfortable, as often as possible.

  • Be more present when you are interacting with people.

  • Don't be on autopilot. Be more intentional, and aware of the situation and ask more questions.

  • Less consumption, more creation.

  • Spend more time offline.

  • Show up. Don't drop the ball.

These are the things I care about the most and what I want to work on. This might be different for you. I have some plans and timelines for some of the things I am working on and events that I want to participate but this is the overarching framework theme that will aid me in all of those aspects.

Hopefully, in 2024 we can work on more meaningful things. And if you have any framework, please share it as well! Wishing you all the best.